The 2022-2024 Board of Directors of the European Aquaculture Society

At its 2022 Annual General Assembly, held on Wednesday, September 28th at the Palacongressi di Rimini, Italy during Aquaculture Europe 2022, EAS membersunanimously approved the EAS 2022-2024 Board of Directors, following elections held earlier this year.

The 2022-2024 EAS Board of Directors. From left to right: Damien Toner, Herve Migaud, Marc Vandeputte, Daniel Żarski, Bente Torstensen, Mariana Ferreira, Diego Mendiola, Antonios Chalaris and Kathrin Steinberg.

Outgoing EAS President Herve Migaud handed over the EAS Presidency to Bente Torstensen, elected as President-Elect in 2020 and (as per the EAS Statutes) automatically becoming President in 2022. Bente presented Herve with a plaque to commemorate his EAS Presidency. As immediate Past President, Herve continues to sit of the Board of Directors for this coming period.

The newly elected Officers and Board Members for 2022-2024 areMarc Vandeputte – INRAE France (elected as President-Electand becoming EAS President in 2024).Antonios Chalaris–Biomar,UK; Diego Mendiola – Caviar Pirinea, Spain; Kathrin Steinberg – Aquaculture Stewardship Council,Germany; Damien Toner – Bord IascaighMhara, Ireland (EAS Treasurer); Daniel Żarski – Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland (elected as Board Members) and Mariana Ferreira – ICBAS and CIIMAR, University of Porto, Portugal (elected as EAS Student Representative on the Board).

President Bente Torstensen welcomed the prospect of working with such a diverse and representative Board over the coming two years and thanked outgoing Board members Gavin Burnell, Constantinos Mylonas, Elisavet Syropoulou and Luisa Valente for their dedication to EAS over recent, and in the case of Gavin Burnell, many years.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button